Wednesday, May 13, 2009

And several months later...

...I'm ready to train again! The rib is all better and I'm finally able to continue my quest to achieve Master of Sport level in Kettlebell Lifting!

What have I been up to in my down time? To be honest, not a whole lot. I kept training to a minimum to give my rib a chance to heal. But lets look back in my training log. Started with the elliptical in January (just to stay active). I had to stop doing it because I was breathing too heavily and my rib would always be sore afterward. Early March I went to the Arnold Fitness Expo in Columbus, Ohio. I had a blast there! Trying out the GNC Grip Gauntlet made me remember how much I miss grip training. Since then I've been training grip about 2-3 days a week. Recently I hit a PR with the grippers. I managed to close the Captain of Crush #2.5 last week:



Mid-April my doctor recommended that I start lifting again, but VERY light, in an attempt to break up some of the scar tissue. I grabbed my lovely pink 8kg kettlebell and did a set of presses, snatches, longcycle and swings (20 reps per arm) once a day. Didn't want to push it!

Fast forward to this week. Yesterday I did 2 10-minute LC sets at 6rpm (first set 16kg, second set 20kg. Not terrible after such a long layoff.

I'm looking forward to competing at the WKC World Kettlebell Lifting Championship in Chicago late August. I plan on competing in the Professional category in the 85kg weight class. I currently weight 192-193lbs, so I think it's doable.

It feels good to be back under the 'bells again :)

Thursday, January 8, 2009

Looking back in time

I like to record my sets. It's a good way to review your form from a different perspective. I always thought that I have pretty good technique, but after looking over my recordings, there's much room for improvement.

Take this particular set for example.



This is a 10 minute longcycle set with the 32kg kettlebells that I did back in October (a couple of weeks prior to my rib injury). I did 47 reps, which is currently my personal record. Here are some general comments I would give myself after reviewing this set:

  • Hold the lockouts longer (enough so that the judge can count). Lots of these could be considered no-counts.

  • 2 minutes 18 seconds in. Don't do that. That's just silly.

  • When bringing the bells back into the rack from the lockout, don't absorb the shock with your legs. It wastes precious energy.

  • Imitating Fedor Fuglev with the whole flicking-of-the-head isn't necessary.
  • Stop leaning forward in the lockout.

  • When cleaning, keep your heels in contact with the floor.

  • Also when cleaning, keep your elbows as close to your hips as possible.

  • The music isn't loud enough.

I could comment on other things, but I'm sure you get the gist.